Sunday, July 17, 2011

Filled Under:

Gustilo open fracture classification

It is also called as Gustilo-Anderson classification. It is a well established system to establish the severity of the open fracture. e.g. if you are on night duty and you have to phone the orthopedic surgeon regarding a case, you just have to tell which type it is according to the Gustilo's classification, instead of describing the fracture in details. The classification goes as follows:

e I - Puncture wound < 1 cm, minimal contamination, low energy and simple fracture
Type II - Laceration > 1 cm; moderate soft tissue damage with adequate bone coverage
Type IIIA - Extensive soft tissue damage, often associated with high energy trauma, massive contamination but adequate bone coverage
Type IIIB - Extensive soft tissue damage with periosteal stripping and bone exposure, flap coverage is usually required
Type IIIC - Arterial injury associated and requiring repair


Post a Comment